TOWN COUNCIL CHAMBER

EAST HARTFORD, CONNECTICUT

NOVEMBER 9, 2015

ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING

PRESENT

Richard F. Kehoe, William P. Horan, Jr., Marc I. Weinberg, Linda A. Russo, Ram Aberasturia, Joseph R. Carlson, Patricia Harmon, Esther B. Clarke and Michael G. Kurker

CALL TO ORDER

In accordance with Section 3.2(a) of the Town Charter, Mayor Marcia A. Leclerc called the meeting to order at 7:30p.m. She announced the exit locations in accordance with Connecticut General Statutes § 29-381, after which the Council joined her in the pledge of allegiance.

Mayor Leclerc stated that she was sworn in as Mayor on Monday, November 9, 2015, at approximately 4:00PM by Robert Pasek, Town Clerk. She then read the following section from the Town Charter which defines this organizational meeting:

Sec. 3.2 Presiding Officer and Clerk

- (a) With the Mayor presiding, the Town Council shall meet at seven thirty p.m. on the second Monday in November, 1969 and biennially thereafter, and shall choose one of its members to be Chairperson of said Council to preside at all meetings, but such office shall not deprive such Chairperson the right to vote on any question.
- (b) The Chairperson shall also be the Deputy Mayor and shall exercise the powers and duties of the Office of Mayor in the event of the absence, death, disability or resignation of the Mayor. The fact of disability of the Mayor shall be determined by an affirmative vote of eight of the members of the Council and shall continue for such time until a majority of the Council members determine that such disability no longer exists. If the Deputy Mayor shall assume the powers and duties of the Mayor until the next biennial election, the Deputy shall resign from the Council, and the Council shall fill the vacancy for the remainder of the Council's term. During all other periods when the Deputy Mayor exercises the powers and duties of Mayor, he or she shall retain his or her vote as a Councillor.
- (c) Upon selection of a Chairperson, the Town Council shall elect one of its members to the office of Vice Chairperson who shall assume the Chairperson's duties in his or her absence including powers and duties of Deputy Mayor.
- (d) At such meeting, and biennially thereafter, the Council shall also select a Clerk of the Council who shall receive and transmit communications for the Council and shall keep the records of its meetings and transactions in accord with the provisions of this Charter, the Ordinances, and Rules of the Council and perform such other services for the Council as may by resolution be prescribed.

1

Mr. Pasek then administered the Oath of Office to the following elected officials:

TOWN COUNCIL

Ram Aberasturia
Joseph Carlson
Esther B. Clarke
Patricia Harmon
William P. Horan, Jr.
Richard F. Kehoe
Michael Kurker
Linda Russo
Marc I. Weinberg

BOARD OF EDUCATION

Harry Amadasun, Jr. – not present Shelby Brown Marilyn Pet Dorese Roberts Thomas Rup – not present Valerie Scheer Stephanie Watkins

SELECTMEN

Robert Falkevitz Rob Rosa Richard Torpey

CONSTABLES

Charles Clarke
Catherine Condio – not present
Lydia Gonzalez
Patricia Perron
Gerald Poehler
Susan Tukey
Tia Woods – not present

TOWN TREASURER

Donald Currey

NOMINATION OF COUNCIL CHAIR/DEPUTY MAYOR

MOTION By Bill Horan

seconded by Linda Russo

to nominate Richard F. Kehoe as Chair of the Town Council

Motion carried 9/0.

NOMINATION FOR VICE CHAIR

MOTION By Marc Weinberg

seconded by Ram Aberasturia

to nominate William P. Horan, Jr. as Vice Chair of the Town Council.

Motion carried 9/0.

NOMINATION OF COUNCIL CLERK

MOTION By Ram Aberasturia

seconded by Esther Clarke

to appoint Angela Attenello as Council Clerk.

Motion carried 9/0.

RESOLUTION RELATING TO TIME, PLACE AND PROCEDURE FOR REGULARLY SCHEDULED AND SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETINGS

MOTION By Linda Russo

seconded by Esther Clarke to **adopt** the following resolution:

Whereas, Section 3.3(a) of the Town Charter of the Town of East Hartford requires that a resolution be adopted at this meeting governing the time and place of regularly scheduled meetings, and provide for the calling of Special Meetings.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED:

That the East Hartford Town Council meets regularly on the first and third Tuesdays of each month at 7:30 p.m., and at such other times as the Council shall designate, in the Council Chamber in the Town Hall of the said Town of East Hartford and at such other places as the Council shall designate.

Also, according to Section 3.3(a) of the Town Charter, that the Chair shall have the power to call a Special Meeting of the Council at any time and shall call such meeting whenever requested by one-third or more of the Councillors.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED:

That Robert's Rules of Order shall govern parliamentary procedure at all Town Council meetings, with the exception that (1) the Chair shall not be required to restate the motion of any Council member unless requested by another Councillor, or when in the discretion of the Chair, such restatement is necessary to avoid any confusion as to the motion; and (2) where such rules are in conflict with the provisions of the State Statutes, the Town Charter, or Town Ordinances.

On call of the vote, motion 9/0.

SELECTION OF MAJORITY AND MINORITY LEADERS

Chair Kehoe announced that Linda Russo will serve as the Majority Leader and Esther Clarke will serve as the Minority Leader.

Chair Kehoe announced that the next regular Town Council meeting will be November 17th.

ADJOURNMENT

MOTION By Esther Clarke

seconded by Bill Horan to **adjourn** (7:54 p.m.) Motion carried 9/0.

Attest		
	Angela M. Attenello	
	TOWN COUNCIL CLERK	