MARCIA A. LECLERC MAYOR



Phone: 860 291-7324 Fax: 860 291-7326

HEALTH DEPARTMENT

Salon Establishment Owners and Operators Notice of Application and Annual Inspection Requirements

The Connecticut General Statutes requires local health departments to inspect, on an annual basis, all salon establishments within their jurisdiction regarding their sanitary condition. The East Hartford Health Department is advising all salon owners and operators of this requirement, and outlining the inspection program put in place to comply with the statutorily required inspections.

Pursuant to *Connecticut General Statutes Chapter 368 Sec. 19a-231. Inspection of Salons*, the director of health for any town, city, borough or district department of health, or the director's authorized representative, shall, on an annual basis, inspect all salons within the director's jurisdiction regarding their sanitary condition. For the purpose of East Hartford's inspection policy, "Salon Establishment" shall include all barber shops, hairdressing shops, nail salons, day spas, and other service providers, including but not limited to those providing facials, hair waxing, hair braiding and eyebrow arching or threading that advertise said services to the general public.

The application and inspection process will be implemented as follows:

- 1. The application process will begin starting in October 1, 2021.
- 2. Enclosed you will find the application and policy, which includes infection control guidance.
- 3. The East Hartford Health Department recorded an information and standards training for salon owners and operators. This recording can be accessed at https://www.easthartfordct.gov/environmental-health/pages/salon-inspection-and-licensing-information.
- 4. East Hartford Health Department inspectors will be holding weekly office hours via Microsoft Teams dedicated to addressing questions about the inspection and licensing standards every Tuesday from 3:00 to 4:00 pm. Owners and operators can access these office hours from the same link referenced above for the recorded training.
- 5. Inspectors will begin contacting establishments to confirm each owner's plans to submit the application and a fee of \$100 for establishments with one to four stations, \$125 if there are five to nine stations, or \$175 if there are 10 or more stations. The application and fee must be submitted prior to conducting the inspection.
- 6. Inspectors will contact the establishment once the application and fee are received to schedule an inspection. Inspectors are available to answer questions regarding salon standards prior to the inspection. We expect to have all applications processed before January 1, 2022.
- 7. This initial license to operate a salon establishment shall be valid until June 30, 2022. Establishment owners must file for a renewal within 60 days prior to license expiration, but no later than June 30, 2022 to avoid any interruption in their business.
- 8. Please note the initial inspection conducted during 2021 will be approached as a learning experience for salon owners, operators and staff.

If you have any questions about this notice or enclosed resources, please contact an environmental health inspector at (860) 291-7324.

Thank you,

Laurence Burnsed, MPH, MBA Director of Health & Social Services