East Hartford Town Council Adopts Emergency Tax Relief

tax deferment

(April 22, 2020) East Hartford, CT -- The East Hartford Town Council unanimously adopted a resolution that provides temporary property tax relief to residents and taxpayers at their regularly scheduled meeting on April 21, 2020.

Governor Ned Lamont through Executive Order 7S allows municipalities to provide temporary tax relief options for their community in response to the pandemic of the Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19). The Tax Deferment Program covers any real estate, motor vehicle or personal property tax. The program is designed to provide a 90-day deferment period for the payment of taxes, without interest or penalty. As a result of this program, the 2019 Grand List tax bills due on July 1, 2020 will have the last day to pay on October 1, 2020.

“We understand that many residents and businesses are experiencing financial hardship because of COVID-19,” said Mayor Marcia Leclerc. “Our hope is that this deferment will help alleviate some of the concerns they may be experiencing.”

Among other initiatives by the Governor is the suspension of the Reapplication Filing Requirements for the Homeowners’ Elderly/Disabled Circuit Breaker Tax Relief Program. For any taxpayer who were granted the benefit for the Grand List year 2017 and who is required to recertify for the Grand List year 2019, are suspended and such taxpayers shall automatically maintain their benefits for the next biennial cycle ending in Grand List year 2021.

For additional information please visit the town website at www.easthartfordct.gov. For tax-related inquiries please contact the tax office at 860-290-7250 or email Tax@easthartfordct.gov.

*COVID-19 Landlord Tax Deferment Application Form*